Sarah Irving

I do things with words, mainly English and Arabic

New article: Mourid Barghouti reviewed

From Electronic Intifada, 19th April 2012:

I didn’t think I was a big fan of the exiled poet Mourid Barghouti until I read I Was Born There, I Was Born Here. I enjoyed I Saw Ramallah, the first volume of his memoirs, to which I Was Born There is the sequel, but I don’t recall being overwhelmed by it. I quite like his poetry, but one has to feel sorry for any Palestinian poet whose work has to stand beside that of Mahmoud Darwish. I Was Born There may have converted me to the Barghouti camp, helped by Humphrey Davies’ fluid, lyrical translation… “I was born here,” Mourid can finally say to his son (79). Not the “I was born there” of exile, but the “here” of aunts, uncles, hitherto-unmet friends who know everything about your life, and the village houses, school, trees and mosque which have left their imprint upon generations of the same family, now dispersed across the globe.

The full article is here.

Leave a Reply

